Helping Hands

I got a virtual helping hand from Luis and David, who found records for over 30 Cadignans and other Martinique ancestors.

I got a virtual helping hand from Luis and David, who found records for over 30 Cadignans and other Martinique ancestors.

As 2012 came to a close little did I know that Luis, who found my great-grandmother Adele’s birth record, enlisted the help of his friend David to find tons of 19th and early 20th century records for Cadignans in and around Le Francois, Martinique.  Luis had met David, a French man of West Indian descent who is apparently very familiar with the records, when he was  doing his own Martinique research. Around New Year’s I received several messages from the both of them with links to various birth, death, and marriage records for many Cadignans and Vallees and their spouses.  I’m still trying to sort through all of it so I can get it straight in my head and my PAF database.

Luis and David also pointed me to a family tree posted by another genealogist that is based on these records and, I presume, the actes d’indivualite.  It starts with Marie Louise, my sixth great-grandmother, and extends for several generations. My direct family line ends with Adele, who disappeared from the Martinique document trail when she left for Panama, never to return.

As I sort through the records I will start posting the images and discussing what they tell us.  More to come!

Leave a Reply

